Aug 2, 2016

The Book of Job, New from Derek Thomas

3 Min Read

Why does God permit suffering? It's a question all of us have asked, and the book of Job points us toward the answer. Job's questions are our questions, and we can identify with his frustration, disappointment, and confusion in the midst of trials. In this twelve-message series, The Book of Job, Dr. Derek Thomas walks us through the book of Job and considers what the Bible says about our darkest moments. He addresses the difficult question of the relationship between God's sovereignty and the existence of evil, sin, and suffering. In the end, as Dr. Thomas shows, it's in our trials that we learn to trust God and say with Job, "Blessed be the name of the Lord."

This series is now available for purchase as a DVD, CD, download, or Ligonier Connect course. A thorough study guide is also available.


Twelve, 23-Minute Messages:

  1. Job, Satan, & God
  2. Pain & Suffering
  3. The Dark Night of the Soul
  4. Miserable Comforters
  5. Contending with God
  6. My Redeemer Lives
  7. The Wisdom of God
  8. The Sovereignty of God
  9. Out of the Whirlwind
  10. Behemoth & Leviathan
  11. Repentance & Restoration
  12. The Patience of Job

Watch the First Message Free

Purchase Options

Derek Thomas

Derek W.H. Thomas is senior minister of First Presbyterian Church in Columbia, S.C., and dean of the doctor of ministry program at Ligonier Academy. He is the author of How the Gospel Brings Us All the Way Home.